Einojuhani Rautavaara – 12 Concertos [4 CD Box Set] (2009)


Title: 12 Concertos
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Ondine
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)
Total Time: 04:28:12 min
Total Size: 994 mb

This four-disc Ondine set collects the complete concertos of Einojuhani Rautavaara. While these 12 works may not make the best argument for the Finnish post-modernist's status as a great composer -- his eight symphonies surely make good that claim -- they certainly make the best argument for his status as an amazingly effective, astoundingly diverse, and wonderfully individualistic composer. The works themselves are all from Rautavaara's wide-ranging maturity. There are three piano concertos, one concerto each for violin, cello, double bass, flute, clarinet, organ, and harp, as well as a Ballad for harp and orchestra, plus the sui generic "Cantus Arcticus" for taped Artic bird songs and orchestra. Though the majority of the works are in three movements, each is unlike any other in conception and execution. From the megalomaniacal Piano Concerto No. 1 through the atmospheric Flute Concerto "Dances of the Winds" to the luminous Bass Concerto "Angel of Dusk," Rautavaara never repeats himself. Each work is superbly composed for its chosen soloist; the nearly Romantic Piano Concerto No. 3, "Gift of Dreams," written for Vladimir Ashkenazy, is a prime example. The soloists are always technically impressive, particularly Patrick Gallois' virtuosity on four separate flutes. They are also often emotionally compelling, especially Elmar Oliveira's seamless legato in the Tranquillo that opens the Violin Concerto. Recorded in cool, clear, deep, and very vivid digital sound, this set deserves to be heard by fans of the best of post-modernism.

Einojuhani Rautavaara - 12 Concertos [4 CD Box Set] (2009)

Einojuhani Rautavaara - 12 Concertos [4 CD Box Set] (2009)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (1977)
01. I. Tranquillo
02. II. Energico
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1968)
03. I. Allegro ma non troppo
04. II. Largo
05. III. Vivace
Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra 'Angel of Light' (1980)
06. I. His First Appearance
07. II. His Monologue
08. III. His Last Appearance
Marko Ylönen (Cello)
Elmar Oliveira (Violin)
Esko Laine (Double Bass)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam (Violin concerto)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Max Pommer (Cello concerto)
Tapiola Sinfonietta/Jean-Jacques Kantorow (Double Bass concerto)
01. Ballad for Harp and Strings (1973-81)
Concerto for Harp and Orchestra (2000)
02. I. Pesante
03. II. Adagietto
04. III. Solenne
Concerto for Birds and Orchestra 'Cantus Articus' (1972)
05. I. The Bog
06. II. Melancholy
07. III. Swans Migrating
Reija Bister (harp)
Marielle Nordmann (harp)
Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra/Juha Kangas (Ballad)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam (Harp Concerto)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam plus composer’s tape recordings of arctic bird song (Cantus Arcticus)
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra 'Dances With the Winds' (1975)
01. I. Andantino
02. II. Vivace
03. III. Andante moderato
04. IV. Allegro
Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (2001)
05. I. Drammatico (ma flessibile)
06. II. Adagio assai
07. III. Vivace
08. Concerto for Organ, Brass Quintet & Symphonic Wind Orchestra 'Annunciations' (1977)
Patrick Gallois (C flute/piccolo/alto/bass)
Richard Stoltzman (clarinet)
Kari Jussila (organ)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam (Flute concerto)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam (Clarinet concerto)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Leif Segerstam (Annunciations)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.1 (1969)
01. I. Con grandezza
02. II. Andante
03. III. Molto vivace
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.2 (1989)
04. I. In viaggio
05. II. Sognando e libero
06. III. Uccelli sulle passioni
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.3 'Gift of Dreams' (1998)
07. I. Tranquillo
08. II. Adagio assai
09. III. Energico
Ralf Gothóni (piano) (№№1,2)
Vladimir Ashkenazy (№3)
Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra/Max Pommer (№1)
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra/Jukka-Pekka Saraste (№2)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra/Vladimir Ashkenazy (№3)