Fairport Convention – Meet On The Ledge: The Classic Years 1967-1975 (1999)

Title: Meet On The Ledge: The Classic Years 1967-1975
Year Of Release: 1999
Label: Island Records
Genre: Folk, Folk Rock
Quality: 320 kbps | FLAC
Total Time: 02:37:01
Total Size: 361 mb | 898 mb


CD 1

01. Chelsea Morning
02. Now Be Thankful (New Stereo Mix)
03. Bonny Bunch Of Roses
04. Fotheringay
05. Walk Awhile
06. Mr. Lacey
07. Sloth
08. Book Song
09. Poor Will And The Jolly Hangman
10. I'll Keep It With Mine
11. The Journeyman's Grace
12. Tale In Hard Time
13. John Lee
14. Meet On The Ledge
15. Rosie
16. Genesis Hall

CD 2

01. The Plainsman
02. A Sailor's Life
03. Who Knows Where The Time Goes?
04. The Hexhamshire Lass
05. Percy's Song
06. Polly On The Shore
07. Come All Ye
08. Bring 'Em Down
09. Rising For The Moon
10. Matty Groves
11. Tam Lin
12. White Dress
13. Stranger To Himself
14. Crazy Man Michael
15. Farewell, Farewell
16. One More Chance

Fairport Convention in its early years was to British folk-rock what the Byrds were to the genre's American bookend. Boasting in their heyday a frontline of Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson, and Iain Matthews, the group's impact has, if anything, grown in the years since the classic lineup split up. Fairport's stature is largely attributable to the ongoing popularity of Brit-folk touchstones Liege and Lief and Unhalfbricking, as well as Thompson's continued high-caliber solo work. Meet on the Ledge offers 32 tracks on two CDs, ranging from the band's somewhat awkward pre-Denny 1967 recordings and on into the mid-'70s, nearly a half-decade after Thompson had moved on. Instructive liner notes and a smattering of rare and previously unreleased tracks make this anthology an exceptional starting point for those who haven't immersed themselves in Fairport Convention and the movement they cultivated.