Too Slim & The Taildraggers – King Size Troublemakers (2000)


Title: King Size Troublemakers
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Burnside Records
Genre: Blues, Blues Rock
Quality: Mp3/320 kbps
Total Time: 55:15
Total Size: 175 Mb (covers)


1. King Size Troublemaker
2. Just Like I Am
3. I'm Gonna Blow
4. Potent 8
5. More Must Be Better
6. Sam's Pit
7. I've Been Down
8. Feel So Good
9. Big Barn Boogie
10. I Get Real High
11. Crowbar Hotel
12. Rosado

This is string-bending, guitar orientated, blues based rock & roll, with some hard-rocking northwestern attitude thrown in for spice. Too Slim keeps the pace from ever getting stagnant by changing it around all the time; he has arranged the songs well. He wrote all but 3 of the songs, and 2 of those 3 he co-wrote. He isn't going to win any prizes for his vocals, but they are more than adequate, and actually quite good on the rousing country stomper, Big Barn Boogie. There are no weak songs on this disc and for me the strongest song is the last cut Rosado. This is a laid back sleepy blues tune that puts me in mind of Santo and Johnny's Sleepwalk in the way it quietly and sinuously keeps pushing towards the finish. The Taildraggers are ably assisted by the addition of 3 sparkling guests to give that extra finish to the sound, Mark Hummel on harmonica, Sam "lightening" Hopkins - guitar and Dave Cebert on piano. This is a benchmark for the group.
AllMusic Review by Bob Gottlieb